A Monster Calls

litteratur

“Stories are important…They can be more important than anything. If they carry the truth.” 

A Monster Calls is the first book I have read by Patrick Ness and now I finally know what all the fuss is about. He is an amazing storyteller and this book felt like magic. The story did feel like a fairytale and I think it will be a great movie. I usually don’t think about movie adaptions when I read books; but this book!

The movie will actually be released in 2016. So if you would like to be a bit early in on the hype, pick up A Monster Calls this fall.

Conor has been haunted by nightmares every single night since his mother got ill. One night he wakes up at 00:07 and finds a monster in his backyard. The monster tells Conor that he will be telling him 3 stories, and the 4th will be told by Conor himself. The monster seeks out the truth in stories and he wants Conor to accept his own hidden truth.

I started reading this book without knowing too much about it and I’m happy I did. I think this is the kind of book that you just pick up and read back to back, and love.

XxMaja

Legg igjen en kommentar

